The American Institute of Architects held its Design Awards at Medinah Country Club to recognize and honor the talents of its members and their exceptional projects.  Six projects were selected to receive awards for Merit in Design and Excellence in Design by a jury comprised of Juan Gabriel Moreno, AIA, president/founder of JGMA, Michael Cady, sustainable design, JGMA, Linda Chavez, designer, Gensler, Josh Dortzbach, founding partner, Forefront Structural Engineers, John Rausch, AIA founding member, JGMA and Cosmin Vrajitoru, AIA, head designer, Reflection.

Entries were submitted in the following categories:  Distinguished Building under $3 million, Distinguished building over $3 million, Distinguished Project under $500,000, Preservation/Adaptive Reuse, Interior Architecture, Architectural Rendering, Residential Architecture and Art & Design.  The six projects that received recognition were:

Merit in Design, Distinguished Building under $3 million:
Knoch Knolls Nature Center, Naperville, IL (Wight &Company)

Excellence in Design, Distinguished Building over $3 million:
Margaret Burke Lee Science Center, DesPlaines, IL (Legat Architects)

Merit in Design, Distinguished Building over $3 million:
Dallas Fire Station #37, Dallas, TX (Dewberry)

Merit in Design, Distinguished Building over $3 million:
New Faith Baptist Church, Matteson, IL (Harding Partners)

Excellence in Design, Interior Architecture:
Office of Charles Vincent George Architects, Naperville, IL
(Charles Vincent George Architects)

Merit in Design, Interior Architecture:
Erie HealthReach Waukegan Health Center, Waukegan, IL (Legat Architects)

Allied organization events, articles and product literature are presented for information only are not necessarily the views or endorsed by AIA NEI.